ICC: Initial hearing of CAR warlord adjourned

The International Criminal Court (ICC) adjourned the trial of a Central African Republic warlord Thursday for technical reasons.

“The initial appearance hearing of suspect Mahamat Said Abdel Kani has adjourned for technical reasons and will resume tomorrow Jan 29 at 10:00 (CET) [0900GMT] Television Webstreaming at 10:30 (CET) [0930GMT]," ICC tweeted.

Kani, who was handed over to the ICC by Central African Republic authorities had to appear Thursday for the first time before the court.

During his initial appearance hearing, a judge will verify the identity of the suspect and the language in which he can follow the proceedings. He will be informed of the charges and of his rights under the ICC Rome Statute.

An ICC arrest warrant for Kani was issued Jan. 7, 2019, according to the statement.

The landlocked CAR plunged into conflict in 2013 after a rebellion by Seleka, an alliance of rebel militia groups, ousted former President Francois Bozize. A transitional government was put in place to restore peace and security.

The violence allegedly led to thousands of deaths and left hundreds of thousands displaced.

ICC Prosecutor Fatou Bensouda opened an investigation Sept. 24, 2014, after the government referred the cases to the ICC on May 30.

The ICC has another war crimes case against Alfred Yekatom and Patrice-Edouard Ngaissona.

That trial is scheduled to begin Feb. 9, 2021, according to the ICC.

Source: Anadolu Agency